Once I asked her to walk with me to the place of your burial. A fainting-fit was the consequence. I have been careful not to make the request a second time.

IMG_3255

“Objects intended for real and daily service, such as a table which has to bear the weight of heavy books or dishes, or a sofa on which we may recline at full length, ought not to look light and elegant, but strong and comely; for comeliness, whether in nature or art, is by no means incompatible with strength.” Charles Locke Eastlake Hints on Household Taste in Furniture, Upholstery, and Other Details 1874, p. 167.

Victorian era ‘fainting couch’ style seating. Nice carved wooden elements, contemporary upholstery and solid construction. It does need some repair, namely the strapping that supports the springs is aged and in places, broken. What would this take to fix? I’m not sure. I think it shouldn’t be too hard and I can recommend some conservators to talk to if you wish to get a professional opinion.

Approximately 77 inches long, 26 deep and 31 inches high.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 comments

Leave a comment